Well its Interview #11 and to keep all of you on your toes I have invited a new Tweep of mine to sit down and face the music with an interview.  Although I have only known Marjorie McAtee for a couple of weeks now, I like to think that if I had a younger sister she would be just like Marjorie.  Her blog is a rollercoaster ride of writing that goes from the A to Z challenge to short stories to ghostwriting articles.  Truly a professional writer in all areas and I wanted to let all of you find out a little more about here, Without any more rambling by your host, cause I do that a lot, I would like you to meet Marjorie McAtee.

Welcome Marjorie, I am ecstatic about having such a prolific writer as you here on Ramblings, Reviews and Interviews.  For everyone’s enjoyment I have posted all your contact information right here in the front of the interview, sneaky of me isn’t it?

Blog: http://www.dontcallmemarge.com/

Writing Services Page: http://www.mcateewritingservices.com/

Facebook Fan Page (this is where I share blog posts and other articles, stories etc written under my own name): https://www.facebook.com/writer.marjorie.mcatee

Twitter https://twitter.com/marjoriemcatee

Approximately how many articles are you writing, or ghost writing a year nowadays?

Well, that really depends, but it’s usually in the neighborhood of several hundred.

What works have you published so far?

I’ve published short fiction and creative nonfiction pieces in The Blotter, Amarillo Bay, Center: A Journal of Literary Fiction, Attribute Magazine and Flashquake. Poetry appears in Western North Carolina Woman and Attribute Magazine.

 I love your blog how long have you been at it.

Since March, 2011. Don’t Call Me Marge is my third blog. The other two are now defunct and don’t bear discussing. I chose the name because I knew my friends would be able to remember it easily.

How often do you work on your blog in a typical week?

I’m not sure there is such a thing as a “typical week.” Before I started the A to Z Challenge this year, I only blogged once or twice a week. So, I probably spent four or five hours writing those posts and getting them up. Since I started blogging every day for the A to Z Challenge, it’s easily been two or three times that. I may keep blogging more often after the challenge ends. It’s been very rewarding in an emotional sense and it’s been great for my readership, obviously.

I love the confidence in the tag lines of your blog.  What can visitors expect to see there.

I’m not as offensive or vulgar as you might think. I try to keep things light and steer away from political topics, although I did blog the Presidential debates last year and I think my politics are pretty obvious. I normally do a weekly column, “Fun Friday Facts,” which is self-explanatory and pretty popular. Otherwise, I just try to say funny things.

Can you explain a bit for some of us lesser informed, what SEO is and how you help sites with that?

‘SEO’ stands for search engine optimization, and it’s the combination of factors that goes into getting your webpage to rank high in search returns. I help businesses by providing website content that copy that uses appropriate search keywords, images, and metadata so that when potential users search for relevant products or services, that business’s page comes up at the top of the list. I write copy for business websites and content for their blogs, and I also do press releases, newsletters, brochures, social media management, and things of that nature.

If someone wants to engage your services, what’s the best way to get in touch with you?

You can contact me through my email at marjorie@mcateewritingservices.com or call 304-983-2580.

I see you do a lot of reviews of places that you have been to.  How did that all come about?

A few years ago I took a European backpacking trip and I wrote a few travel articles immediately afterward. Those were some of my first professional writing gigs. I don’t do a lot of travel writing now, though, because for the most part they expect you to pay for your own trips.

You state on your blog that you used to travel extensively, has that slowed at all?

I don’t travel that often, I used to travel a lot more in the past. I think people get the impression that I travel a lot because I lived abroad for several years, but really I just lived in the same town for pretty much the whole time. In the past year I’ve been to Chicago twice, Berkeley Springs, and Virginia Beach. I’m planning to do some day-tripping this summer.

What have you learned about yourself with the writing that you have done?

I’m funny, even when I’m trying to be serious.

Where were you born Marjorie?

West Virginia.

Do you still live in that area?

Yes. I left the state when I turned 17, went to Hollins University in Roanoke, VA, studied in Paris, traveled the U.S., traveled Europe, lived in Asheville, NC for a few years, then lived in Chamonix Mont Blanc, France, for a few years before returning to WV. I was lured by the affordable property prices.

Are you married, have a partner?

Nope. Two cats. Don’t call me a cat lady, it makes me stabby. This might sound weird, but I have an anniversary with myself. It’s May 23. This year will be my fourth anniversary with me. The traditional gift is linen.

What would be your dream vacation?

I really want to go to India. I used to do yoga and meditate a lot (still do, just not as much), so I wanted to go to India a lot more in the past than I do now, but I still wanna go. Or, maybe somewhere else. I have a lot of friends in Australia. I’ve always wanted to go to Japan. I have a hard time settling on just one vacation. As you can see, I’m a very decisive person.

Favorite Musical Group/Artist

I have a new one every few years, but right now, The Descendents

What is your favorite room in the house and why?

Kitchen, cause that’s where the food is kept. Mmmmm food…

If you won the lottery tomorrow, what would you change about your life, if anything?

I’d take a trip around the world. I’m planning to do that anyway, I’d just do it sooner.

Where would you like to retire, and why?

France, BECAUSE IT’S AWESOME.

Who was the most important person in your life? Can you tell me about him or her?

My maternal grandfather, Silas Conolley, who stepped in after my father died and was always supportive, in a gruff old man kind of way. He passed on in 2006.

What are the most important lessons you’ve learned in life?

Never date anyone crazier or poorer than you. Your girlfriends are more important than your boyfriends. You’re not obligated to love your relatives if they’re assholes. No effort is ever wasted.

If you could change one event in history, what would it be?

You can’t just go around changing the past, you’ll create a paradox and become your own grandpa, or something.

How would you like to be remembered?

As a great humorist, I guess. I don’t like to think about how I’m going to be remembered. I’m only thirty, I don’t have one foot in the grave yet!

What were your summers like growing up?

My grandparents had an enormous patch of raspberries planted behind their house. When they came ripe I’d go burrow under the bushes and eat them right off the vine. My granddad would lean out the back door and bellow, “DON’T YOU BE EATIN’ MAH RASPBERRIES!!” and I’d holler back, “I’M NOT EATIN’ YOUR RASPBERRIES!!” Then he’d send my grandmother out to have me fill up a bowl.

Did you have a nickname? How’d you get it?

In Chamonix they called me “Mad Marge.” That’s mad as in the Mad Hatter, not mad as in angry. I think you can guess how I got it.

If you were an animal, what would you be?

A cat, probably. I’m aloof, I like to lick myself…joking. But a cat, for sure.

What is your biggest pet peeve?

I’m not sure there just one. Pet peeves are like potato chips, you know? Probably my biggest pet peeve is when people repeat whatever asinine B.S. they see on Facebook or Fox News, or hear their friends say, without taking the time to find out whether it’s true or not. Because it’s usually not.

If we looked in your refrigerator, what would we find?

Leftovers of at least two soups, half a cabbage that has seen better days (turns out I don’t like cabbage very much), some of the more standard vegetables, a lot of cheese, milk, beer, condiments – you know, food.

If you could have any super power, what would it be?

OMG, Go-Go-Gadget arms!

If someone wrote a biography about you, what do you think the title should be?

Ugh, I don’t know, I’m awful at titles. My editor will back me up on this.

Most of my novel writing friends have a hard time with this segment, but since you are an SEO giant, I think this should be really easy for you, so now some one or two words only answers please:

Favorite color?  Burgundy

Lucky Number Three

What color are the sheets on your bed today?  Pink

Favorite pet?  Tom

Fast dance or Slow Dance?  Fast!

Drapes or blinds  Drapes

House or apt/condo  House

Boxers/Briefs  Panties! I’m a woman!

Short/Tall? Tall

Favorite TV Show The Simpsons

Movie that you watch every year or more often? Back to the Future

Favorite Season? Autumn

Regular or Decaf? Regular

City Girl or Country Girl? Townie

Take out or cook at home? Cook at home

Favorite Movie? Danny Deckchair

Skirts or jeans? Skirts

Favorite Day of the Week? Saturday

How many Pairs of Shoes do you own? Ten

Wow, great stuff Marjorie, now here is where I give you a chance to plug your favorite charity, gives us a bit of a story about it and any links you may have for the readers to go visit and maybe help out.

I volunteer with Friends of the Four-Legged and Furry, a local no-kill cat rescue. They rescue cats and kittens from the Preston County Animal Shelter in WV, and try to find them responsible, loving homes. You can go to their website to learn more, donate funds, or offer other help. http://www.fotflaf.webs.com/

Super work Marjorie you nailed the one or two word answers, I have to attribute that to your SEO and keyword stuff that you do.  It has been a pleasure having you here with us and I hope that you continue to have great success in the writing world.

