I have read a lot lately about writers block.  I don’t know that I agree with all the “experts” on a lot of this.   I have not been myself for almost a year now, my writing has sat idle and I have gone into a shell of sorts, not even writing little tidbits for my blog.  Worse yet I have not even visited all of my old friends blogs to support them.  My personal life has suffered because of this attitude I have had and I was occupied with other things that I shouldn’t have, and won’t go into here, but suffice to say I was not exhibiting good behavior.  Those who know me best would tell you this is totally unlike the Peter they know.  There have been many reasons for this, turning the new 40, oh yeah 60 years old.  That one hit me pretty hard, facing my own mortality perhaps, realizing that after 60 there is what, 70?  Dealing with my own health issues this past year, too many days in hospitals with all that time to stare at the ceiling and think of what is ahead of me.

So I wallowed a bit in this self-pity, thinking I was the only person turning 60 last October, thinking I was the only one who could possibly have the problems I did.  I had no reason to write, no desire or energy to even look at the work I had in progress.  Just last week I felt it reaching an unbearable pitch, I finally broke down and talked to others, not writers, just my family and friends.  The common thing I got from them was that I had lost my passion.  I thought about that a lot, had I lost my passion for writing and that was the reason for everything else?  Or had everything else combined to kill my passion for writing.  I don’t know the answer to that one yet, I am going to start writing again.  I know that I have a fire in me to do that, so maybe the passion has been reignited.  I have made peace and amends with the people in my personal life that I have hurt or ignored this past almost year.  It will take time to completely heal those relationships, but I am willing to put in the effort to make up for this past year.  Now I am hoping to make amends to all my friends in the blogosphere over the next several months.  I think these two steps will help keep the passion alive in me to write again.

