Hello everyone, back again with Interview #7.  I have been really fortunate to have interviewed people from basically around the world, ok, at least from several different countries, Australia, Englandand across the pond in the USA.  However, this time, I am extremely excited about the opportunity to not only interview a published Author, but a Canadian Author on top of it, can it get any better?  I am not sure when I bumped into Stacia Carlton on Twitter @staciaEcarlton I think our mutual good (crazy) friend Zencherry (see Interview #1) suggested that we follow each other.  So as I do with everyone that I follow, I went and peeked at Stacia’s website http://www.staciacarlton.com and was pleasantly surprised at what I found.  One thing I did note was an interview that was recently posted on Zencherrys site http://zencherry.wordpress.com with Stacia.  She sounded like a really cool person and I wanted to find out more about her, and if you have read Interviews 1 through 6 you will know that I tend to quickly get off subject and start digging into the real person.

So, now that the long winded introduction is over please read on and find out more about a great Author, Canadian and Tweep, Stacia Carlton.

Hello Stacia, I couldn’t help but notice, since it is on your Twitter Profile, that you are from Toronto, (Ontario, Canada for those people who didn’t know).  Tell us Stacia were you born and raised in Toronto?

Hey Peter!  So happy to have a chance to speak with you!  So yeah, I am from Toronto, raised here and a real Torontonian at heart.  I wasn’t born in Toronto, but I guess I would say that I definitely grew up here…and hopefully continue to grow here!  It’s a brilliant city!

Ahh but not born there, so where were you born, in the forest north of the City?

I was born in a small Ontario town on the shores of the St. Lawrence, near the Quebec border. The region offers some of the most beautiful scenery you can imagine.

 Have you ever lived outside of Canada?

 Nope. In my heart I often think that I’d like to live in Paris, but in all honesty I’m not sure that I could ever leave Canada permanently…it’s really unbelievably beautiful.  And I love snow…so it works out well

 I notice you have already been published, what is your current total?

One published so far, working on number two but only one for now.  

Are you self published?

I am!  I chose self publishing after extensive (and really boring) research.  Basically what I discovered was that unless you’re a celebrity (maybe the flavour of the week reality star), an established name (think Stephen King), or offering them a great work of “literature” agents really don’t have the time of day for you. Some of the agents were very forthcoming with that very information too, which I thought quite nice of them in a odd sort of way! I suppose that my material isn’t heady enough for them to consider time worthy, which I completely understand. And so I chose to go it alone…I’m tough and extremely tenacious so I thought it a good fit. Did you know that ebooks recently outsold paperbacks?!  Pretty exciting news!

Again, I know the answer to this, but what genre do you write in primarily?

I’m not a huge fan of the word romance but it is the most accurate way to describe what I write. They are contemporary love stories.  Not necessarily what you might expect from a typical romance.  I try to make them very real, real people, real thought processes relatable situations, real conversations.  There’s lots of awesome sex, but I try to make it  more reality based than the typical bodice rippers.  Not to put those down, they’re great too, but I just want to tell stories that anyone can imagine themselves in…you know? My current work in progress however is more of a psychological examination of a sexual affair.  So I guess you might say that I like to write about men and women and what goes on not only behind closed doors, but also in the darker recesses of their minds.

And why did you choose that area to write in?

I don’t think I chose it so much as it chose me…Is that a terrible cliché?  I guess you write what you know ultimately…I’m not a vampire, nor have I ever met one (although I often think I might to, like right about now…I’m digging being this age!).  I’m not a cop nor a detective.  I’ve loved, I’ve lost…I’ve thought about those situations so now I write about them.

How often do you work on your novel in a typical week?

I try to write every day, but I have kids and a husband and I really like to get to the gym, so sometimes it gets a bit less time that it really deserves…I suppose I write about 10 or so hours a week…One day it’ll be more…once everyone figures out where the eggs/towels/windex/extra blankets/old CD collection/corkscrew (oh wait that’s me), what those big white machines in the basement do,  well anyway you get the point…once people start to figure out where stuff is and what stuff does around the house, I might have a little more time to write.  It’s fun and funny, and I do enjoy every minute of it in the meantime!

Oh people, enough of this, if you want to read all about her work, just go to Stacia’s website http://www.staciacarlton.com or stop by Zencherry’s site http://zencherry.wordpress.com for that great interview.  I want to get a bit more personal with Stacia, you know, find out what makes her tick or ticked off.

Have you ever been to Lion’s Head, Ontario? (snickers)

I so wish I got where you were going with that one, but sadly I’m fresh out of witty comebacks…sorry (I even googled it to see if there was anything I could go with…)

Big question for me, are you a middle child, only child, one of a huge brood?

Youngest of three…pretty great place to be…

Normal old boring childhood or were you on a merchant marine ship growing up?

Idyllic bordering on ridiculous!

What is your favorite sport, professional or amateur, and what team do you root for?

Tennis is without question my favourite professional sport…I could watch and discuss tennis almost endlessly…I have no favourites…I love them all… although I do love to watch the new up and comers…have you seen the new kid from Canada with the rocket serve?Milos Raonic…keep your eyes on that one!

Do you have a favorite musical group or Artist?

My musical taste is extremely varied.  Very few styles that I dislike…currently loving James Morrison (not Jim Morrison, although I really like his stuff too – time and place right!) and The Dave Matthews Band…I think if I had to choose one artist of all times though it would have to be Prince. What?  I was a teen in the early 80’s!!!!

 When you are writing, do you play music or prefer silence?

I can listen to some classical, but nothing with lyrics…I have an uncanny ability to recall song lyrics …I will sing along with ANYTHING! I’ve also found that what I listen to influences the storyline…I prefer to be in charge and not allow John Legend, for example, to dictate what happens during a particular scene. And he has been known to do that…usually the sex scenes too the little devil!

Do you have a day job?

Yes, I run a very small and exclusive hotel.  It’s a bit like a tiny all inclusive.  Meals prepared, open bar for those over age 19,  maid service (including laundry), shuttle service to varying offsite entertainment events, we even have a homework assistance mechanism in place for the VIP clientele and of course therapy when required, and as with most resorts, it’s always busier on the weekends…HAHAHAHAHA!  I kill me!

What is the favorite room in your house and why?

Probably my dining room…it’s in the centre of my mostly open concept main floor and it’s where I write.  The table is large and mid last century modern, which I adore. It’s big so I can spread out if I need to, but mostly I like it because I can see out to the front and back of the house, keeps anyone or anything from sneaking up on me. I startle easily!

Who was the most important person in your life? Can you tell me about him or her?

MOST important!?! That’s tough!  Different people fill different roles. My husband and kids obviously top the list…they are literally my everything but I would be remiss if I didn’t also include my sister.  She epitomizes everything not only a big sister should be, but also a best friend.  I could go on for pages…but how to sum her up in a short paragraph? She loves limitlessly, she listens endlessly, she understands depths that no one else ever can, she calls me out when I need it,ANDshe’s as funny as hell! What else can a girl ask for?

If you could change one event in history, what would it be?

If we change anything from the past then it automatically alters the future, and then we wouldn’t have the lessons from the past that we have now.  Wow! Did I watch one too many Quantum Leap episodes as a kid? (Editors note, I loved that show)

What is your earliest memory?

My memories are so extensive and varied that I couldn’t possibly recall one as being the definitive first.  Sorry, boring 😦

How would you describe yourself as a child? 

Funny, peculiar, tomboyish and maybe with a hint of sass.

How has your life been different than what you’d imagined?

I always thought that I would be a terribly succesful business woman, inexplicably married to a starving artist.  The irony is that I’m married to a successful business man who keeps me from being a starving artist. Lucky me!

If you were an animal, what would you be?

A cat…intelligent, elegant, lithe, graceful, beautiful, athletic, sleeps a TON…in a nutshell everything I aspire to be

What is your biggest pet peeve?

Probably people who park in handicapped spots who clearly have no impediment…or maybe people who crowd you in a line up. It’s not going to make the line go quicker people…no wait, people who chew with their mouths open…um can I have a minute with this one?

What is the most adventurous thing you have ever done?

I’m infinitely more adventurous in my mind, although I did jump off a 50’ cliff into a lake once…brown bottle courage and all that…and some other stuff, but I can’t discuss that in this type of forum 😉

Where would you go in your Time Machine?

Mid 18th century Scotland, to when Jamie and Claire met and I would TOTALLY steal Jamie from her. (You’ve gotta be an Outlander fan to get that one!)

Have you ever been to a school or college reunion?

I have not in fact!  Not my scene ATALL! The past is the past…let’s just leave it there shall we!

Phew, that was intense, now for some rapid fire questions, see if you can keep it to one or two word answers, but I know from past interviews that is hard for writer’s to do.

Favorite color? Chartreuse

Lucky Number? 3

Most Money you have spent on a single Book? $170

Fast dance or Slow Dance? Neither

Short/Tall? Tall

Best book you ever read? ToKillAMockingBirdOROfMiceandMen (see what I did there?!)

Favorite TV Show TV Meh~

Movie that makes you cry? The Pianist

Movie that you watch every year or more often? Rocky Horror Picture Show (OF COURSE!)

Favorite Season? Fall

Regular or Decaf? neither

City Girl or Country Girl? city

4 door sedan or sports car? Sports car

Favorite food? Charcuterie (Editors note, My turn to Google)

Take out or cook at home? Cook at home

Skirts or jeans? Both

Favorite Day of the Week? MONDAY!!!

Wow, you are good at this, but I know you have been interviewed before so it is likely getting to be old hat with you.  Ok, I will admit to you (but don’t tell anyone else) I lived in Lion’s Head, Ontario for 4 years, actually the last 4 years I lived at home (high school time).  I don’t like to tell many that, but if they don’t know where it is or that it has a population of 280 then its ok.

Well Stacia, you have been a great sport, I have asked everyone I interview lately if they have a charity they would like to plug and you gave me the link to Me to We http://www.metowe.com/ .  I encourage everyone to stop by there and check them out they have some fantastic ideas and do a great service.

Thanks again Stacia.

 

 

