I have been truly blessed on Twitter to meet some amazing people.  This interview is with a great writer with February 7, 2012 release date of her Novel An Unfamiliar Murder.  Jane Isaac @janeisaacauthor on Twitter, has graciously agreed to let me ask her some questions not only about her upcoming release, but as you know by now, other stuff that has nothing at all to do with her writing. You can view samples of her work at http://www.newbiewriters.com. Her debut novel will be availalbe at http://www.rainstormpress.com

Hello Jane, let’s get the readers a little familiar with your work.  I understand you are very close to putting out your debut Novel, An Unfamiliar Murder.  Without giving away the whole story, what is the premise of the novel?

Whilst An Unfamiliar Murder is essentially a murder mystery, it’s also the story of two women, one fighting to prove her innocence, the other trying to prove herself in the senior echelons of a competitive profession, whilst juggling the demands of parenting teenage sons. Let me share my blurb with you:

“Is this what it feels like to be buried alive?”

Arriving home from a routine day at work, Anna Cottrell has no idea that her life is about to change forever. But discovering the stabbed body of a stranger in her flat, then becoming prime suspect in a murder enquiry is only the beginning. Her persistent claims of innocence start to crumble when new evidence links her irrevocably with the victim…

Leading her first murder enquiry, DCI Helen Lavery unravels a trail of deception, family secrets and betrayal. When Anna’s boyfriend is kidnapped and Anna herself disappears, Lavery is forced into a race against time. Can she catch the killer before he executes his ultimate victim?

That sounds really interesting, what was your inspiration to write this story?

I’ve always been fascinated when extraordinary things happen to ordinary people.  Most of us live in a bubble, our lives relatively untouched by law enforcement. What happens if we are forced into such a situation? How would we react? I try to make my characters real; they could just as easily be you or I, so we feel their journey.

Also, I love all genres within crime fiction but more recently my inspirations have been Jeffery Deaver and James Patterson – so I wanted to write a page turning thriller with an original twist.

Approximately how long has this labor of love taken to produce Jane?

Eighteen months to write and another year to get published, I’m counting down the days to its release on February 7th.

Are you self publishing? Or are you working with a Publisher?

New to the publishing world, I chose the traditional route and have been overwhelmed by the interest in my book. I am very lucky to have signed with the wonderful Rainstorm Press in the US. They have been fabulous in working closely with me on cover art, edits and advice, to nurture my novel to publication.

It sounds like you will be in demand after the first release, so, do you have another Novel in mind, and if so will it be in the same genre?

Yes and yes. Long before I finished An Unfamiliar Murder I developed a strong connection with the characters and realized I wanted to write a sequel. I am currently half way through the second, presently untitled (just waiting for the right one to jump out and grab me), and hope to have it finished by Easter.

OK, enough of that Author stuff, lets learn a bit more about Jane.  You mention in several of your guest posts on the blog NewbieWriters at http://www.newbiewriters.com that you haven’t taken the leap and set up a blog yet.  Do you plan on having a platform of that sort when your book is published?

I admit I’m a bit of a late developer to the whole author platform issue; I’ve only been on Facebook and Twitter a couple of months. My website is currently under construction and, when finished, I plan to include an excerpt from the book, perhaps some short stories and also a regular blog.

For someone who considers themselves a Newbie I can’t help but notice you have gained a nice following on Twitter, do you post on Twitter often?

I find Twitter strangely addictive. I didn’t know what to expect when I joined but I have met some very engaging and interesting people (mentioning no names – you know who you are…) They’re a great bunch of people, very supportive and good fun to spend cyber time with. If I’d known it was this good, I’d have joined years ago.

You state in your posts that you have a day job.  Does your job require that you write technical stuff or promotional stuff?

With a background in freelance writing, I’m occasionally called upon to write press releases, articles and website updates, but my job title is principally ‘Buyer’ – I spend money for a living.

So, when you get home at night, what is the typical routine?

Fortunately, I work part time which allows me the afternoons to wander across the fields with my dog, Bollo, and be home when my daughter finishes school to do all the Mum stuff.

I usually juggle checking emails and tweeting whilst cooking dinner (with occasional disastrous results – luckily the guys are very understanding). When my daughter has gone to bed I either write until my eyelids droop or, a few times a week my husband and I catch a good drama. Recently, we’ve embraced ‘dramathons’ – watching back to back, sometimes two or three episodes a night. We’ve followed The Sopranos, The Wire, The Killing, Spiral and Dexter in this way – it makes you feel extra smug when they leave you on a cliffhanger!

I notice that you are somewhere between Birmingham and London (I googled it) do you get to either city very often?

Not so muchBirmingham, but I love the hustle and bustle ofLondon. We go there often for theatre, restaurants, comedy clubs etc. Sometimes we just pile in the car and head down to Covent Garden to watch the street artists or sit outside a Café in Soho and soak up the atmosphere.

Were you born and raised in that area?

I was born inLondon and my Dad still lives there, so I guess that explains my attachment to the place. I have lived in and around Northants since I was eleven years old.

 I like this question so I have to ask it. Only child? Middle child? one of a dozen?

 Middle

 Was your childhood “normal” and I will let you define normal?

Wondering what is normal? Hmmm. Well, there were four of us kids so I guess it was pretty hectic and very noisy. My elder brother was the academic one, he acquired a PHD in Science. I was always ‘the arty one’ – although I’ve never been entirely sure what that means.

What is the best vacation you have ever had, either as a child or an adult?

Eleven years ago my husband and I took a year out to travel the world. We started through theFar East, moved on to theAntipodes and finished up driving across theUS, from the West to the East Coast. It was one of the best times of my life. Can’t wait to do it all again.

Your favorite room in the house and why, just remember my kid reads this blog.

Hee hee. When it’s warm, it would have to be the garden. We eat out there, read, pretend to garden (although I’m not particularly green fingered) and sometimes I even take my laptop out and tap the keys. One of the many benefits of living in the country is achieving peace and tranquility at home.

Otherwise, the kitchen where BBC Radio 4 is usually babbling in the background, whilst I’m cooking or reading, and we all congregate here for good food, a glass of wine and lots of chatter.  No matter where I am there is always a mischievousLabradorat my feet.

If you won the lottery tomorrow, what would you change about your life, if anything?

I know it’s a cliché but I’d give half of it away to Breast Cancer Research (I lost a very close friend to this some years ago), Guide Dogs and Oxfam – they need it far more than I do. With the rest? Well – I’d secure tickets to the 2012 Olympics (it’s amazing how many of us Brits can’t get tickets), buy my daughter a yacht because she’s always wanted to sail and takes loads more holidays with family and friends.

Where would you like to retire, and why?

Tough question. Ummm Auckland, Sydney, rural Thailand, France, Venice… OK – everywhere. I’d become a perennial traveler, at least for the first couple of years. 

Now for the fun questions, single or two word answers only please.

Favorite Season? Any – as long as the sun is shining

Regular or Decaf? Latte (with caffeine) – always been a bit of a light weight.

Single? Married? Divorced? Nun? Married to my best mate.

City Girl or Country Girl? Both

4 door sedan or sports car? VW Beetle Convertible

Favorite food? Florentine Steak

Favorite Book?  Memoirs of a Geisha

Take out or cook at home? Home – my ten year old is the best cook in the world.

How many books a year do you read? 40-50

Favorite Movie? Cemetery Junction

Movie that makes you cry? Atonement

Skirts or jeans? Jeans

Favorite Day of the Week? Wednesdays – my day off when I get the house to myself.

Sorry Mr Editor – I tried, really I did

 Well you are not the first one to have trouble with one word answers.  It seems a problem for any writer.  Well Jane, I think I have abused you enough, you have given all of us a terrific insight into your upcoming release, and, the behind the scenes Jane that your family gets to see every day.  Best of luck with the new release and I encourage all my friends and Tweeps to keep an eye on this rising star.

 Below are Jane’s favorite charities, some of them may have Web Sites in your Country, these are mostlyUKsites.  She asks that all of us do what we can to help others in need.

http://www.breastcanceruk.org.uk/

http://www.oxfam.org.uk/?pscid=ps_ggl_01-Brand-High+Vol

http://www.guidedogs.org.uk/

