Hello and welcome to #2 in my Interview Series.  I wasn’t sure how to top the Zencherry interview but I think I may have found the perfect victim for an attempt at knocking Zencherry off the most viewed post list here on my blog.  Today I am extremely happy to introduce you to Dionne Lister or @DionneLister on Twitter.

I met Dionne a while back in Twitter when she made a sweet comment on one of my blog entries.  Like I do with everyone who I meet on line I immediately went to the Redroom.com site that Dionne had set up and took a look around.  I found a very, very talented writer who I just couldn’t wait for the rest of you to meet.  She will tell you that it was at my insistence that she did her first blog post but I think it was just a matter of time before she dipped into the blog writing pool anyway.

Dionne is from Australia and well heck, I’m not going to give all that away now, read on and you will see her answers for yourself.  For some really interesting reading check our Dionne’s blog at http://redroom.com/member/dionne-lister/blog

Ok Dionne, here we go, I notice you have a blog on Redroom.com how long have you been blogging? 

About 3 or 4 weeks, because this really nice guy on twitter, who shall remain nameless, ok it was Peter Hobbs, told me I should, so I did and I like it.

*Editors note* I did not know Dionne was going to say that.

I see you write for a friend’s website, how often do you get to do that?

Every week for 4 hours and I actually get paid (can you believe it?).  My very talented friend, who runs a web design business, created it, it’s her baby and it’s called EarthFirst.net.  http://www.earthfirst.net.au/  It’s for the average person who wants to do their bit for the environment but isn’t fanatical.

You are working on a new novel, can you give us the premise without giving away the story?

I wrote a fantasy adventure about 7 years ago and I’m up to the 4th edit.  My new one (which I’ve only done 3 pages, how embarrassing) is about an Australian girl who has to travel to London when she finds out her estranged uncle has left her an inheritance, but there’s a catch.  She has to share his country estate with three other beneficiaries for one year, and if anyone leaves no one inherits.  Of course they have a hard time getting along and everyone has their own issues to deal with so it should be interesting (for me anyway).  My new, new one, which is still an idea is top secret so I can’t say anything.

How often do you work on your novel in a typical week?

Between 5 and 10 hours, it just depends on what else I have on.

Do you have any published work yet?

Not really.  I have entered a few competitions and have won writersbillboard.com for a short story and a flash fiction which were up on their site for two months and I’ve recently been runner up for an autumn themed comp for Five Stop Story which will be put on their website and iPhone app, it’s called Breathe in Autumn and it’s suspense.

When do you anticipate being published?

That depends.  I’ve only just started the uphill battle to get an agent for my finished novel and I’m awaiting my first rejection (this time round).  I figure I’ll let it go to twenty then I’ll do it myself 🙂

You live in Sydney, Australia, is that where you were born?

Yes, Sydney born and raised.  I’ve left the country a couple of times and went to see the squirrels in London – love those squirrels.

What on earth is a Sydney-Sider? 

A person who resides in Sydney, I’ve never actually thought about it before.  Don’t they have that anywhere else?  A London-sider, a New York-sider, I guess not, good question Mr. Hobbs.  Everyone else has ‘er’ as in Londoner, New Yorker but we would be Sydneyer, it would sound like you’re more Sydney than someone else, kind of silly.

Big question for me, are you a middle child, only child, one of a huge brood?

Eldest of two.

What is your best memory of childhood? 

Going to my grandparents and feeling like everyone loved me and I was special, but they’re all gone now and I miss that.

Are you still friends with anyone from that time in your life?

Does my sister count?  I’m friends with a girl from school who gets home from Dubai in a few days, she’s finally given up flying for Emirates and living in Dubai.

If you won the lottery tomorrow, what would you change about your life, if anything?

I would ditch the work I have to do (although I still like it because it’s writing), for the work I love doing (how could I stop writing fiction?), I would have time to get fit and travel, maybe visit some of the great people I’ve met in the twitterverse.

Married? Single?

Married to the man I started living with when I was 19, wow time flies.

If any, tell us about your children.

2 boys aged 3 and 5, who almost didn’t exist because I never wanted kids, but life is like that and I’m very happy they insisted on being here.

When you get home at night, what is the typical routine?

Fend off hungry, thirsty children, cook dinner, run their bath, then write/study/work/tweet until bed.  Occasionally I’ll watch TV, I loooove English property shows aka Location, Location, Location and Relocation, Relocation, Relocation, Kristy and Phil have such great chemistry.

On your profile on Twitter there are some sketches, yours?

Yes, I did those.  I’ve been drawing/painting on and off for about 14 years, it’s just a hobby but it’s like writing, you get into it and the time flies and I find it very fulfilling. 

Any thoughts of putting them on display somewhere, or publishing them?

No, I haven’t thought of showing them anywhere, they’re not that good compared to a proper artist, but I mentioned to Maureen @zencherry, that I was off to art class and of course, being the encouraging person she is, asked me to post some of my pictures.  She faithfully re-tweets them to her people. 

Do you take classes for the drawing, or just work on it at home?

I probably don’t have time but I go to art class with a friend every Tuesday night.

Who was the most important person in your life?

When I was young it was my parents, then my husband and now it’s those two little interlopers.

If you could have any super power, what would it be?

Invisibility.  I would love to make some of me invisible so I could appear slim without having to diet, and then go totally invisible to sneak up to people and whisper my book title in their ear and say “buy Dionne’s book, buy Dionne’s book, it’s bloody fantastic.  She is an awesome author.”

Now for my favorite part, one or two word answers Dionne, ready, set, go….

Favorite color? Red/blue

Lucky Number? 4, but it’s not very lucky (yes I know, I can count)

Favorite Season? Autumn

Regular or Decaf? Regular

Favorite Day of the Week? Friday

How many Pairs of Shoes do you own?15

4 door sedan or sports car? 5 door

Favorite food? Everything but marzipan

Most Money you have spent on a single Book? $80

Fast dance or Slow Dance? Slow

Wow Dionne, those were some great answers.  I really hope you find a publisher for that work or heck just go out and do it yourself, those of us out here need to read the type of work that you produce.  Again I will tell all of my readers they should run, not walk, to your blog to get a taste of some great writing    http://redroom.com/member/dionne-lister/blog

Thanks Dionne, you have been a sport and a treat to interview.

